Managing Role Definitions

You can manage role definitions by creating or editing roles and defining a set of service or resource level privileges.

If there are no existing roles for your account, an appropriate message is displayed with the Create New Roles button.

The Roles page displays the number of System roles and Custom roles on top of the page.

The Roles page displays the Custom roles with a Key icon and System roles with the Reltio logo. You can edit, duplicate or delete a Custom role. System roles, as the name implies, are roles that are created by Reltio. You can only use a System role as is. You can only duplicate a System role. However, you can always click on a System role to see all the services/resources that are accessible through that role.

The Roles page lists the names of the existing roles. You can search for an existing role by using the Search icon provided on the right corner. If your search for an existing role does not find any matching results, a message is displayed. You can also sort the roles by their names. You can hover over an existing role to duplicate or delete the role. You can also use the trash can icon to delete the roles that are not required anymore.

Normally, when you have a specific role with access specified for some desired services, you may want to tweak the same for modifying access permissions for some user accounts. In such a case, replicating the same role and modifying it is better than creating a new role.

On clicking Duplicate, the Create new role page appears. You can specify a new role name for the duplicated set of permissions and create a new role. The services and their corresponding privileges associated with the role that was used for duplication, are listed in the duplicated role, as expected. You can make changes as required.

You can edit an existing Custom role by clicking on it. The Edit role page appears.

You can make the required changes. On clicking SAVE, the updated details are successfully modified.

You can create a Custom role by using the CREATE NEW button on top of the page. For more information, see Creating a new Role.